2005 Judges

Andrea Barrett
Nancy Pearl
James Wood

Andrea Barrett Andrea Barrett is the author of five novels, most recently The Voyage of the Narwhal, and two collections of short fiction, Ship Fever, which received the National Book Award, and Servants of the Map, a finalist for the Pulitzer Prize. A MacArthur Fellow, she’s also been a Fellow at the Center for Scholars and Writers at the New York Public Library, and has received Guggenheim and NEA fellowships. She lives in western Massachusetts and teaches at Williams College and in the MFA Program for Writers at Warren Wilson.

Nancy Pearl Nancy Pearl is the former director of the Washington Center for the Book at the Seattle Public Library. She now writes, reviews books for both local and national publications, and speaks to library and community groups across the country. She reviews books regularly on NPR's Morning Edition and KUOW, the Seattle affiliate of National Public Radio. She is the author of Book Lust: Recommended Reading for Every Mood, Moment, and Reason (Sasquatch Books, 2003); More Book Lust: Recommended Reading for Every Mood, Moment, and Reason (Sasquatch Books, 5/05); Now Read This: A Guide to Mainstream Fiction, 1978 - 1998 (Libraries Unlimited, 1999); and Now Read This II: A Guide to Mainstream Fiction, 1990-2001 (Libraries Unlimited, 2002). In 1998, Library Journal named her Fiction Reviewer of the Year. She is the model for the Librarian Action Figure.

James Wood James Wood is a senior editor at The New Republic and a visiting lecturer in English and American Literature at Harvard University. He has served as the chief literary critic for the The Guardian and has published two collections of critical essays, The Broken Estate: Essays on Literature and Belief and The Irresponsible Self: On Laughter and the Novel, and a novel, The Book Against God. His essays and reviews have appeared in a number of other publications including The New Yorker and The London Review of Books.